Ultimate Technology Corporation Stand-Alone Pole Display

General discussions about Abacre Restaurant Point of Sale
Post Reply
KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Ultimate Technology Corporation Stand-Alone Pole Display

Post by KevKha » Sun Jan 22, 2006 8:13 am

Has anyone tested this software with an UTC stand-alone pole display? I'm able to display text using UTC Opos Line Display Tester v1.2.1 software but unable with ARPOS latest version. I believe the LDN for UTC pole display is called UTCLineDisplay.

This pole display I got is a parallel type. At which point should the text display on the pole? Is it after closing the order? Is it possible to program a welcome message?

Thanks in advance for you helps.

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Wed Jan 25, 2006 9:41 pm

Does it support OPOS interface? Why are you sure that LDN is called
UTCLineDisplay?

Currently we display "Total" just before printing a bill.

Which model of UTC stand-alone pole display do you have?
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Thu Jan 26, 2006 3:08 am

I believe it does. I downloaded the OPOS driver from UTC and from the README.txt it recommends to download and install the latest OPOS CCO from the provided link.

REAME.txt
=======

-- README For PD1100/1200 OPOS LineDisplay Driver v1.7.2 --

In order to use the PD1100/1200 OPOS Driver, you must have the OPOS Common Controls version
1.7 or higher installed. This can be downloaded from:
http://monroecs.com/oposccos_current.htm

If the installer does not detect the CCO's it will provide you with an option to just install the
LineDisplay CCO (v1.7.1)

Once the UTC Service Object is installed, configure your port setting using the LineDisplay
Configuration app in the program group.

The LineDisplay can be opened via an OPOS application using the logical name:

UTCLineDisplay

.........

OPOS Driver: http://www.ultimatetechnology.com/media ... v1.7.2.zip

CCO: http://www.monroecs.com/files/OposCCOs-1_9_000.exe

My UTC stand-alone pole display model is 10361. It's the number appears when you first power it up along with the ROM version number.

Thanks

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Fri Jan 27, 2006 4:53 pm

It's great that it works via OPOS. It's the standard interface. We
use OPOS drivers from EPSON. But these drivers should works with
devises from other manufacturers.
Could you probably install EPSON OPOS drivers
and see in Windows Start - All Programs - OPOS - Setup POS utility
this utility lists all OPOS devises (even from other manufacturers)
so you may see LDN and other info there.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Fri Jan 27, 2006 11:55 pm

OK, I will try using the EPSON OPOS driver and let you know the outcome later.

Thanks Roman.

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Sat Jan 28, 2006 10:09 am

After installing EPSON OPOS ADK v2.50 and all its SPs I see only EPSON's devices and most of them are COM and USB type. There is no Parallel one listed. I also don't see the other manufacturers listed. Which version of OPOS ADK are you prefering to?

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Mon Jan 30, 2006 5:32 pm

I was talking about EPSON Setup POS version 2.0.

Next week we will try to work directly via standard OPOS drivers you provided
above (CCO: http://www.monroecs.com/files/OposCCOs-1_9_000.exe)
or send direct command to display via parallel port.
Althoght EPSON is a major player in OPOS standards. It's strange that
their implementation of OPOS is not complete.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:04 am

It would be a great benefit for all of us if you implement this one. Please consider the following features when you implement the CCO.

Most of the Pole Displays out there are 20x2 (20 chars and 2 lines)

1. Allow the users to create their own templete for the Pole Display. In most cases the template contains two lines.

Example 1: Assume a customer give you a $10 bill. Please add <paid> and <change> variables to the Bill too. I remember another user in this forum have requested it as well.

+----------------------------------+
Total: $9.50
Change: $0.50
+----------------------------------+

Example 2:
+----------------------------------+
Total: $9.50
Thank You!
+----------------------------------+

2. Allow the users to choose a driver for their Pole Display (OPOS or Windows driver). With a paralel type of inferface I was able to add a Generic Text printer and printed to the pole display but have no control all of the commands such as blink, scroll the text, and text aligment ect...

I'm not sure it's a bug but I notice when I tick on Use Pole in Bill Configurations, the Printer (using Windows Driver) stops printing bills. I have to uncheck Use Pole for the printer to print bill again. I have a Samsung SRP-350G. I've tried switching to OPOS driver but no lucks. I will wait for your new release and give it another try.

Thanks Roman

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:11 pm

KevKha wrote:I'm not sure it's a bug but I notice when I tick on Use Pole in Bill Configurations, the Printer (using Windows Driver) stops printing bills. I have to uncheck Use Pole for the printer to print bill again. I have a Samsung SRP-350G. I've tried switching to OPOS driver but no lucks. I will wait for your new release and give it another try.


ARPOS tries to show info on Pole and then Print Bill.
If Pole is not accessible I think ARPOS is blocked so it does not go
to print bill command.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Thu Feb 09, 2006 4:10 am

Next week we will try to work directly via standard OPOS drivers you provided
above (CCO: http://www.monroecs.com/files/OposCCOs-1_9_000.exe)
or send direct command to display via parallel port.



Roman, any update on this yet?

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Thu Feb 09, 2006 8:59 pm

In fact we explored the case.
EPOS OPOS drivers can work with UTC pole display.
We made series of experiments.

Finally we will use standard CCO OPOS drivers. We are currently
working on new version of the software. Too many things were done. For
example, we added Recipe field for Items and it's visible on Kitchen
view. But we cannot release this version right now, because we should
finish some other changes.

But you may already use UTC pole display with EPSON OPOS drivers.
You should install:
1. CCO OPOS drivers.
2. EPSON OPOS drivers.
3. UTC drivers.

Then in ESPON OPOS ADK (Setup) you should specify LDN name for UTC
pole display. We will send you detailed instructions and screenshots
on your email.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Sat Apr 01, 2006 1:16 am

The new driver works great! Two thumbs up for the Pole Display Events. Our customers like it.

Can you remove the "seconds" in the <time> so we can save space for other things?

Can you add a new Event at the bottom with 3-5 seconds delay, after the Close Order event so we can say "Thank you! Please come again." message?

Thank You.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 3 guests