Inserting Filename

General discussions about Advanced Find and Replace
Post Reply
Millzee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 6:28 am

Inserting Filename

Post by Millzee » Wed May 25, 2005 6:40 am

Hi

I have just come across your app and I'm hoping its going to be able to help save my skin!

I have approx 40K .xml files all looking similiar to :-

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" standalone="yes"?>
<fields>
<field id="Client_Name">XXXXXXXXXX</field>
<field id="Date_In_System">20041209</field>
<field id="Status"></field>
<field id="Document_Class"></field>
<field id="Document_Overview"></field>
<field id="Administrator"></field>
</fields>

What I want to do is insert into each file the filename like :-

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" standalone="yes"?>
<fields>
<field id="Filename">Filename1</field>
<field id="Client_Name">XXXXXXXXXX</field>
<field id="Date_In_System">20041209</field>
<field id="Status"></field>
<field id="Document_Class"></field>
<field id="Document_Overview"></field>
<field id="Administrator"></field>
</fields>

Is this possible with your app?

sorry if this is a basic question but I have a rather short timeframe to try and resolve this :(

many thanks

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Wed May 25, 2005 8:54 am

Hi,

Your skin will be quickly saved with AFR! :)

Read the page:
http://www.abacre.com/afr/manual/optsba ... ilerenamer

So:

Start the program. In main menu - Action - Options - Batch replace
check ON: "Include File Name into Search Scope".
set correct modifiers:
Modifier S: ON
Modifier G: ON
Press OK.

In Batch Replace tab of the main window:
check ON: "Use regular expressions"
put Search for:
.*\\(.+\.xml)\r\n(.*)<fields>

Replace with:
\r\n$2<fields>\r\n<field id="Filename">$1</field>

That's all. I verified it perfectly works. So if you have the file
name:
C:\Program Files\Advanced Find and Replace\test it.xml

it will produce the resulting file:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" standalone="yes"?>
<fields>
<field id="Filename">test it.xml</field>
<field id="Client_Name">XXXXXXXXXX</field>
<field id="Date_In_System">20041209</field>
<field id="Status"></field>
<field id="Document_Class"></field>
<field id="Document_Overview"></field>
<field id="Administrator"></field>
</fields>


If you need to include the complete file name (with full path) use the
Search for:
(.+\.xml)\r\n(.*)<fields>
Replace with (is the same as above):
\r\n$2<fields>\r\n<field id="Filename">$1</field>

That's it. In this case the resulting file will be:

Code: Select all

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-16" standalone="yes"?>
<fields>
<field id="Filename">C:\Program Files\Advanced Find and Replace\test it.xml</field>
<field id="Client_Name">XXXXXXXXXX</field>
<field id="Date_In_System">20041209</field>
<field id="Status"></field>
<field id="Document_Class"></field>
<field id="Document_Overview"></field>
<field id="Administrator"></field>
</fields>


Does it work on your computer?
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Millzee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 6:28 am

Post by Millzee » Wed May 25, 2005 5:51 pm

Wow what a great and quick response.

This is almost exactly what I need, can it be tailored to just put the filename without path or extension so it could like like :-

<field id="Filename">test it</field>

thanks in advance.

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Wed May 25, 2005 6:18 pm

Well, then it will be about the same as described in:
http://www.abacre.com/afr/manual/optsba ... ilerenamer
So use search for:
.*\\(.+)\.xml\r\n(.*)<fields>

That's all!
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Millzee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 6:28 am

Ok I have a really strange one now.

Post by Millzee » Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:12 am

Hi

I have used the above and it work fantastically.

However, i have since rebuilt my PC and re-installed the app but now I cannot get it to search any .xml file at all, for either finding or batch replacing.

I am using 2.3 registered.

I'm guessing I have selected a setting somewhere?

Even more wierd, I cant search or replace on files it has previously worked on?

any ideas?

ps. I have emailed you the source and default.cfg file.

Millzee
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 6:28 am

Sorted it

Post by Millzee » Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:05 pm

Ok its now working, I just selected "search in subfolders" off then back on and that seemed to do the trick.

cheers and thanks for an amazing app.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests