printer notification

General discussions about Abacre Restaurant Point of Sale
Post Reply
nhhphuong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:33 am

printer notification

Post by nhhphuong » Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:22 am

I have 1 printer in kitchen, I can't use 1 printer for 2 computer.

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Wed Jun 14, 2006 3:32 am

If you use Windows Driver for your printer then you can share this printer on your network. Next add the network printer onto the 2nd computer and configure ARPOS to point to this printer.

Hope this helps.

nhhphuong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:33 am

printer notification

Post by nhhphuong » Wed Jun 14, 2006 8:50 am

My problem:
GF: I have 1 printer in kitchen connect to PC1
1F: I have 1 printer in bar connect to PC2
PC1 and PC2 connect via LAN
==========
PC1-----------printer kitchen
|
|
PC2-----------printer bar
==========
+From PC1: I want to print to printer in kitchen and printer in bar
PC1 have local printer kitchen and share printer bar

+From PC2: I want to print to printer in kitchen and printer in bar
PC2 have local printer bar and share printer kitchen
==========
My problem is "Menu item categories" must what config to I can print from PC1 and PC2?????
If I config for PC1: STARTER -local printer kitchen
DRINK -share printer bar
What's config PC2?
I only print from PC1 or PC2, I can't print both PC1 and PC2

Every body Help me!!!!!!!!!!
Thank very much!!!!!!!!!!


[/b]

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:26 am

Hi Phuong,

In your case if you want both PCs to bring to both printers. You would first share your printers on the network. Then configure ARPOS to use the shared printer path (i.e. \\network\printer1) instead of the local path.

PC1:

STARTER -> Kitchen Printer = \\network\printer1
DRINK -> Bar Printer = \\network\printer2

PC2:

This PC should share the same ARPOS's DB

\\network\ARPOS\arpos.mdb

The Notificatoin Printing result should be same from PC1

Try it and let us know.
Last edited by KevKha on Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

nhhphuong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:33 am

Post by nhhphuong » Thu Jun 15, 2006 1:47 am

Hi KevKha!
Thanks for KevKha!
I understand your reply, must use 3 PCs
PC1 kitchen
| /
----------PC3
| \
PC2 bar

PC1: STARTER -> Kitchen Printer = \\PC3\kitchen
DRINK -> Bar Printer = \\PC3\bar

PC2: STARTER -> Kitchen Printer = \\PC3\kitchen
DRINK -> Bar Printer = \\PC3\bar
Both PCs (PC1 and PC2) share the same Notification printer
This OK!
=====================================
But I only have 2 PCs
PC1--------kitchen
|
|
PC2--------bar
PC1: STARTER -> Kitchen Printer = kitchen
DRINK -> Bar Printer = \\PC3\bar

PC2: STARTER -> Kitchen Printer = \\PC3\kitchen
DRINK -> Bar Printer = bar
Both PCs share the not same Notification printer
This my problem

Do you understand?

KevKha
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 8:09 am

Post by KevKha » Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:59 am

Hi Phuong,

I think you misunderstood my configuration. There is only 2 PCs involvement, not 3.

So you have...

PC1 -> kitchen printer (physically attached)
PC2 -> bar printer (physically attached)

You need to share these two printers and use the shared path in ARPOS

\\PC1\kitchen (shared printer)
\\PC2\bar (shared printer)

From ARPOS -> Notification Printers... configure so that

Code----------Logical Device Name------Location
1--------------\\PC1\kitchen--------------Kitchen
2--------------\\PC2\bar------------------Bar

Make sure PC1 and PC2 are accessing the same ARPOS's database.
So it doesn't matter where you initiate the Print, ARPOS should pick the right path for its configured printer. If you opt to add 3 or more PCs to the network, it won't make any difference. Make sure all the PCs are accessing the same ARPOS's database.

nhhphuong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:33 am

Post by nhhphuong » Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:52 am

Hi KevKha!

I tried your way
Code----------Logical Device Name------Location
1--------------\\PC1\kitchen---------------Kitchen
2--------------\\PC2\bar-------------------Bar

Because same ARPOS's database so :
+ from PC1 can't print to kitchen with path \\PC1\kitchen, only can local printer kitchen and \\PC2\bar
+ from PC2 can't print to bar with path \\PC2\bar, only can local printer bar and \\PC1\kitchen
===============================================
My way is OK:
Code----------Logical Device Name------Location
1--------------kitchen----------------------Kitchen
2--------------bar---------------------------Bar
3--------------\\PC1\kitchen---------------Kitchen
4--------------\\PC2\bar-------------------Bar

config for printer notification
PC1:
STARTER---1 (code printer)
DRINK------4 (code printer)

PC2:
STARTER(1)---3 (code printer)
DRINK(1)------2 (code printer)

mean is: add STARTER(1) and DRINK(1) then select code printer

I want to your way but can't print.
Help me!

nhhphuong
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 1:33 am

Post by nhhphuong » Thu Jun 15, 2006 6:58 am

Hi KevKha!

I have this problem:
Why boths bill and money enough but report loss 1 table code A8.
I closed oder after print bill.
Everyday loss 1 table code A8.

what's I check?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests