Can't enter sales;backup,restore capability?

General discussions about Abacre Retail Point of Sale
Post Reply
casagrandem
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:02 pm

Can't enter sales;backup,restore capability?

Post by casagrandem » Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:11 pm

My first objective is to enter all past activity to date and reconcile to current physical inventory. This will give me good numbers for interim statements of operations.

I had already entered all purchases for the period from 2/25/10 through the end of April, 2010. This went without any material problem, though I will have some notes for you on minor hiccups. I worked around all of them with no problem.

Then I tried to enter aggregate sales for that same period on one individual new order. The application balked at the first item on the sales order. I doublechecked - sufficient purchases were entered to cover the quantity sold in that period.

The order was dated at the end of the period. Purchases were dated at the beginning. When the item is called up by clicking the Add button and selecting it for the sales order, all fields for the sales order are highlighted in the entry grid. Clicking a field does not change the highlighting - while it is possible to change the price by clicking the Change Price button, my more immediate concern is quantity.

I entered a quantity number from the numeric keypad - it was to be in the 400 range so I typed 4 first; 7 appeared in that field on the sales order on the screen - I then went to the horizontal row of numbers on the keyboard and tried the 4/$ key lowercase. Same problem. In fact, no further numerals beyond the single digit will be accepted.

This is additional information that may bear on the problem. When I click on new order, the time that the order began and the time elapsed since entry began does not reset to the current time and zero.

Maybe this is a rogue order that needs to be flushed out of memory? I see no ability within the application to kill an order that has a mistake in it.

Also, does this application have a data backup and restore function?

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't enter sales;backup,restore capability?

Post by Abacre » Thu Dec 09, 2010 10:07 pm

About backup/restore.
Read the page:
http://www.abacre.com/retailpointofsale ... backup.htm

So you can simply backup database and configuration files by standard Windows backup functions
or you can use third-party backup programs
or you can use built-in backup function: execute end of day command
there is an option to do the backup.
So you should simply check the option
and the system will do the backup automatically after end of day process.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

casagrandem
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2010 5:02 pm

Re: Can't enter sales;backup,restore capability?

Post by casagrandem » Tue Dec 14, 2010 12:43 am

Roman wrote:About backup/restore.
Read the page:
http://www.abacre.com/retailpointofsale ... backup.htm

So you can simply backup database and configuration files by standard Windows backup functions
or you can use third-party backup programs
or you can use built-in backup function: execute end of day command
there is an option to do the backup.
So you should simply check the option
and the system will do the backup automatically after end of day process.
Thank you for the backup information - how about the problem I'm having entering sales - any progress there? We are stalled - can't even use POS.

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't enter sales;backup,restore capability?

Post by Abacre » Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:28 pm

Please send your database and configuration files to support@abacre.com
We are planning to release updated version until the end of the month to fix some the issues.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest