Page 1 of 1

parentheses characters...

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:07 am
by tim8324798347
I have a list of keywords. I want to get rid of the ones in parentheses, including the parentheses as well. How do I do this?

Example:

keyword1
keyword2
(keyword3)
keyword4
keyword5
(keyword6)
keyword7


keyword1
keyword2
keyword4
keyword5
keyword7

It's pretty simple, but it's driving me crazy! Thanks for the help in advance!

Re: parentheses characters...

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:29 am
by Abacre
Go to Batch replace tab, check on "Use regular expressions".
Put into the grid, search for:
\(.*\)\r\n

Replace with:
should be empty.

That's all I verified it works perfectly.

This example will work for cased when each word occupies whole line.

Re: parentheses characters...

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:52 pm
by tim8324798347
It's not working. What do the modifiers have to be set at? I think that's the problem. Also, I don't know if this matters, but my keyword list has keyword phrases as well, for example:

keyword one
keyword two
(keyword for hundred)
keyword six thousand

Thanks again.

Re: parentheses characters...

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:36 pm
by Abacre
It depends on how the words are delimited (placed on lines of text file).
Please send a sample file to support@abacre.com

Re: parentheses characters...

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 2:02 am
by tim8324798347
I just checked modifier s and it works perfectly. Thanks again for all the help!