Can find but not replace

General discussions about Advanced Find and Replace
Post Reply
silverbob
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 5:49 pm

Can find but not replace

Post by silverbob » Thu May 25, 2006 6:02 pm

Using the Replace tab, if I enter several lines of HTML code in the Text To Find window, and set the action to Just Find, AFR reports 24 files found. But, when I enter some replacement code in the lower window and set the action to Replace With and click Execute, I get zero results. If I set the action back to Just Find, I get the same 24 files.

Why is this?

silverbob
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 25, 2006 5:49 pm

Post by silverbob » Thu May 25, 2006 6:34 pm

I guess I solved my problem. The files I was attempting to update were marked "read only". What I DON'T understand is just minutest before I had this problem, I was able to replace other text in many of the files in this same directory, and ALL of the files were marked "read only".

If anyone can explain why the first replace pass worked, but the second failed, I'd be interested in hearing the reason.

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1201
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Post by Abacre » Thu May 25, 2006 6:44 pm

Please verify the option:
"Force read-only files" in main menu - Action - Options -General.

silverbob wrote:If anyone can explain why the first replace pass
worked, but the second failed, I'd be interested in hearing the reason.

"Just Find" action may read any files ("Read Only" files included).

But in order to make replace action (Replace With, Insert Before, Insert After etc) you need to have non read-only files. (Unless you have checked "Force read-only files" option.)
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests