AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

General discussions about Advanced Find and Replace
Post Reply
Mannie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:44 pm

AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Mannie » Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:08 pm

Was installing the new AFR 6 at Win7 with my my regCode of AFR5.1 (hoping this is allowed).

Starting AFR 6 - I get this error:

---------------------------
Access violation at address 02DB021A. Read of address 00000004.
---------------------------

Not able to work with it.

Thanks, Mannie

Mannie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Mannie » Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:08 pm

Did this upgrading, why I hopped there a new options to avoid changes of file encoding. :|

Mannie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Mannie » Fri Nov 26, 2010 9:10 pm

Forgotten - Win7-64bit.
AFR5.1 works without any problems on Win7-64bit!

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Abacre » Sun Nov 28, 2010 12:31 pm

AFR 6 also works fine on Win7 64-bit. We made various tests on Win7 64-bit.
What can you try to do:
right-click on AFR shortcut and run it as administrator
or make it running in Windows XP compatibility mode.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Mannie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 8:44 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Mannie » Tue Nov 30, 2010 9:33 pm

right-Click-run-as-admin: same prob. 4-times-ok-click runs it, but just the mask, on ending with x - got 4times an error window to quit.

XP-Comp-Mode: exactly the same prob. as above.

when I click on x:
Access violation at address 02C5021A. Read of address 00000004.
---------------------------

Have to click 4times on it to quit!

bischoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by bischoff » Thu Dec 16, 2010 8:39 pm

I have a professional license on AFR 5. I have the same memory access issue on Windows XP except I installed AFR6 and tried to use an AFR 5 registration key. There were some issues I faced in AFR 4 & 5, so I was hoping that my AFR 5 key work work in AFR 6 instead I get the memory access error after adding the key. AFR 6 was working fine for several days prior to adding the key in trial mode. I am willing to pay some money to get to AFR 6, but as a paying customer for AFR 4 & 5 a $39.99 purchase is kinda steep. I don't see any way to purchase an upgrade. Can you help your loyal customers by offering upgrade pricing?

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Abacre » Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:24 pm

Reg key for version 5 does not work with version 6. You have to purchase the upgrade.
The upgrade price is about 50% of original price $39.99
The upgrade links are located on www.abacre.com/support/
You have to use "I forgot my Abacre ID" link if you don't have yet Abacre ID.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

bischoff
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by bischoff » Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:20 pm

As described in my earlier post, I entered a AFR 5 key in AFR 6 and got an "Access Violation at address..." error. The registration menu has also disappeared. The application pops up several different errors like the above and does not function. OK, I purchased an AFR 6.0 key just now and uninstalled AFR 6 and reinstalled, but I do not get a registration menu any longer and continue to get the errors. In short, I can not enter the correct key to register AFR 6. I tried uninstalling AFR 6 again, rebooting and reinstalling, but still no registration menu. I am using Windows XP. Please help

knd5329
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 28, 2010 4:57 pm

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by knd5329 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:04 pm

I add myself to the list of those who get the "Access Violation Error", though at a slightly different address. I am a longtime AFR user, and operate under Windows XP. I have just installed AFR 6, and it is unusable.

Abacre
Site Admin
Posts: 1198
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:32 pm
Contact:

Re: AFR 5.1 upgrading to AFR 6 Win7 problem

Post by Abacre » Wed Dec 29, 2010 12:59 pm

This is related to the case when you apply registration key of previous version, for example, registration key of version 5.1 to the latest major version 6.0.
So registration key 5.1 does not work with version 6.0.
In next minor update of AFR we will correct the shown error messages to better handle such situation.
Kind regards,
Abacre Limited
http://www.abacre.com
support@abacre.com

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests